Testing Information

Nancy Moore
District Assessment Coordinator
Media Specialist
Advisor for READ Act Implementation
Contact Form

The Minnesota Assessments (ACCESS and MCA/MTAS) are required by federal and state statutes. The ACCESS is administered to all English Learner students in grades K-12 and MCA/MTAS to select grade levels in the areas of language arts, mathematics, and science. The purpose of these tests is to monitor student growth, evaluate instruction and allow professionals to make informative curriculum planning decisions.

Testing Links:
Testing Parent Refusal Form

Testing Parent Refusal Form – Spanish

Parents/guardians have a right to not have their student participate in state-required standardized assessments. Minnesota statute requires that districts provide information about statewide assessments and include a form to complete if they refuse to have their student participate. The form to meet this legislative requirement is available at the link below; it must be returned to the respective school office.

Why does participation matter?

  • State assessments are just one measure of your child’s achievement, but your student’s participation is important to understand how effectively the education at Sleepy Eye Public School is aligned to the academic standards.
  • In Minnesota’s implementation of the federal Every Student Succeeds Act, a student not participating in the statewide assessments will be counted as “not proficient” for the purposes of school and district accountability.
  • Students who receive a college-ready score on the high school MCA are not required to take a remedial, noncredit course at a Minnesota state college or university saving time and money.
  • Educators and policy makers use information from assessments to make decisions about resources and support provided.

Testing Calendar for 2023-2024 (PDF)
Testing Calendar for 2023-2024 (Website)

Understanding Student MCA Achievement Reports